A Site for Photographers by Photographers

Community > Forums > Canon EOS > EOS Lenses > cheap EOS products at A & M...

Featured Equipment Deals

Getting Started in Video Read More

Getting Started in Video

Photographer Ted Kawalerski made the transition from still to motion and has never looked back. Ted takes you through the steps to get started in a medium that will open your photography business to...

Latest Learning Articles

Featured Member: Katarzyna Gritzmann Read More

Featured Member: Katarzyna Gritzmann

Photo.net featured member Katarzyna Gritzmann talks about photography and portfolio of images.

cheap EOS products at A & M Photo World

Simon Zheng , Apr 29, 2004; 02:48 p.m.

I'm looking to buy a bunch of EOS products like the Canon 10D and maybe 70-200 IS. The prices I saw are very low, which makes it kinda suspicious. I wasn't able to find more than 1 review on-line about the store and the feedback wasn't very good. Did anybody have experience buying products (especially Canon EOS) from them and what's your experience? Thanks!


Rob Bernhard , Apr 29, 2004; 02:58 p.m.

<< I wasn't able to find more than 1 review on-line about the store and the feedback wasn't very good. >>

You're joking of course, right?

http://www.resellerratings.com/seller1988.html (124 reviews)

http://www.photo.net/neighbor/one-subcategory?id=2 (8 reviews)

Mike Forbes , Apr 29, 2004; 03:01 p.m.

Go to B & H, KEH, Adorama or Hunt's. Those prices are what you are going to pay. Everyone else who appears to be lower is probably playing a game of some sort.

Simon Zheng , Apr 29, 2004; 03:12 p.m.

Apparently I should've spent more than 2 minutes searching on yahoo for this store's rating :) Thanks for the info. Looks like a store I need to stay as far away as I possibly can.

Rob Bernhard , Apr 29, 2004; 03:43 p.m.


On the main photo.net page there's a box that has what I would call trusted vendors. If you choose one of them you're not only going to be sure of a good transaction, but you'll also be helping photo.net via referal moneys.

KALIM BHATTI , Apr 29, 2004; 03:58 p.m.

Glad you asked. I was 100% suspicious about this dealer and decided to order a Canon 10d at the advertised price of $899 or so. I also ordered a 550ex flash from them, in case they would try and upsell me. When I get their traditional email to verify the order, they did just that, try to get me to buy a battery at a whopping $70. Also they said the camera is grey market, which means, according to them, will be shipped from Japan and would take 4-6 weeks. If that's not enough, they said the camera is not NTSC, it's PAL. (which only means that you can't play your images on TV in USA with PAL) I said no to all their tricks and soon got an email stating the camera is not in stock.

Yes they are a fraud, stay away.


Back to top

Notify me of Responses