A Site for Photographers by Photographers

Is this a scam

Terence J Sullivan , Apr 21, 2008; 09:06 p.m.

I got this email looks like an ego trap cash cow what do you think.

No permission was obtained from me to publish my images in this book.

This is the site http://www.photolaureates.org/

This is the email That I got

Dear Terence,

The editorial team of Photography Laureates has conducted a detailed examination of the best photographs submitted to us in the last months. We have decided to publish in an Anthology the very best photographers and the most exceptional pictures we have encountered.

We would like to congratulate you for being selected for publication as part of our highly acclaimed Photography Anthology. As such, you are a finalist for the $6500 prize. As a Laureate and talented photographer, you now have access to several networking opportunities aimed at exposing you to the photography community.

Your photograph was selected out of hundreds of competing entries and you will be published along with other talented photographers.

Your photograph, Gem, was selected for its light mix and general composition...

.. and will be published in our acclaimed "Best Of 2008 Photography", Deluxe, 8.5" X 11", Hard bound, 300 pages Special Edition anthology.


Terence: This special edition will feature You as a Photographer with Your Biography

For a limited time, Click Here to enjoy this exclusive Anthology featuring your Photograph, for only $69. Please note that this offer expires on Apr-26-2008 (or until stocks expire). There will not be other opportunities.

Our Hard Bound Deluxe Anthologies have over 300 pages of leading photographs from Selected Laureates as well as several sections on photography techniques written by leading experts. They make terrific coffee table books and treasured gifts to friends and family! Your photograph will be published in this anthology along with your name and biography.

Every aspect of the publication and design of this leading edition, the Best of 2008 Photography Anthology, reflects the quality craftsmanship that went into the production of this special edition.

Terence, view sample selected pictures of fellow finalists by Clicking Here. Here are also a few sample photographs selected in the 2008 edition of this leading Photography Anthology:

It is also our pleasure to commemorate the publication of your photograph with a Limited Edition Certificate in your name, printed on a high quality Walnut wood finished Plaque. The plaque measures ...As one of our photography laureates, your plaque will feature your name and Photograph as well as a Certificate of Achievement.

Terence, all editors congratulate you on your accomplishment. A very small minority of the photographs we examined were selected to join our Society and considered for publication in our exclusive Anthology.

Please note that to recognize and reward selected photographers, we have established $6500 in prizes to be awarded at the sole discretion of our editorial team.

Again, congratulations, Terence: the Best of 2008 Photography is our most beautifully crafted hard bound Anthology. It features beautiful Photography artistry. We are proud to publish you as part of this talented and exclusive group of photographers. Your contribution to this project is greatly appreciated.


John Warton Senior Editor, Photography Laureates

P.S. 1 - Terence, it goes without saying that you strictly retain all copyrights for your work.

P.S. 2 - Terence, for help, support and enquiries, please feel free to contact Sol, our customer service manager at help@photolaureates.org. Your customer ID is 154828.

Terence Click Here to receive your Deluxe, Hard Bound, 300 pages, Best of 2008 anthology. You are Published in it. Congratulations. price $77


    1   |   2     Next    Last

Terence J Sullivan , Apr 21, 2008; 09:08 p.m.

By the way i didn't enter this competition.

Terence J Sullivan , Apr 21, 2008; 09:10 p.m.

Or publish images on this site.

Justin Blake , Apr 21, 2008; 09:14 p.m.

Sounds like a scam to me. I have heard of people doing this before just to sell books. The other thing is that they say that your photograph was submitted to them but I am assuming that you never submitted it to them. These kind of scams usually just use Google to find photographers and shots to try this out on.

Oxide Blu , Apr 21, 2008; 09:56 p.m.

Save your time. IT IS A SCAM, well known in other circles. Ignore it.

Matt Laur , Apr 21, 2008; 10:12 p.m.

As usual, the clumsy faux-formal language patterns and phrases like "beautiful Photography artistry" are the dead giveaways.

Tim Holte , Apr 21, 2008; 10:16 p.m.

"Is this a scam" Sharp! "Sounds like a scam to me" Sharper yet!

Mike Dixon , Apr 21, 2008; 10:21 p.m.

Definitely a scam. Would be funny to send them notice of a class-action lawsuit by all the people whose photos they publish without permission.

Subbarayan Prasanna , Apr 21, 2008; 11:19 p.m.

If the picture is yours and the guy published it without your consent then he has to pay you. You should claim your fee for his using your copyright. I endorse the comment above [Mike's] that you should give him notice and demand payment.

Josef Tornick , Apr 22, 2008; 12:25 a.m.

they do the same thing in literary circles..... except it is a book of "poetry'. SCAM! save your money!

    1   |   2     Next    Last

Back to top

Notify me of Responses