Ron Andrews 

, Apr 07, 2009; 01:21 p.m.
I was suspicious when I saw the price of $679 for a Nikon D200 body. I was also wary because this was on a sponsored link on Gmail. These links are not always reputable. When I clicked on the link to get the the fumfie.com website, they had many of the specs on the camera wrong. Right now there is no way I'm doing business with this outfit unless I hear some positive experiences from others who have dealth with them.
Has anyone dealth with fumfie.com?
Michael R. Freeman
, Apr 07, 2009; 01:51 p.m.
I think it should be pretty obvious that this is just another Brooklyn bait-n-switch shop selling grey imports. They list the D300 for $1199. The REAL price (B&H, Adorama, Amazon, etc) for a genuine Nikon USA body with a genuine Nikon USA warranty is around $1500. (Note that "1 year limited USA Warranty" does not necessarily equal "1 Year Nikon USA Warranty")
Call them up and try to order. I bet they try to upgrade you to a "long life" battery and a $50 2G CF card.
Michael R. Freeman
, Apr 07, 2009; 01:55 p.m.
This tells you all you really need to know. They have their own domain name, but use a gmail account for contact email?
red flag #2
Charles Webster 
, Apr 07, 2009; 08:47 p.m.
Hmmm, Google maps show that address as a nice quiet residential neighborhood with the Kosher Center the only business nearby.
<Chas>
William Kahn 
, Apr 08, 2009; 08:44 a.m.
Michael R. Freeman
, Apr 08, 2009; 09:44 a.m.
I am always suspicious of glowing ratings like that when all of the posters of said reviews registered with resellerratings.com on the very same day they leave a review, and it's the only review they have ever left on the site. The one reviewer that has left two reviews left them both on the same day, and the second review was for JerseyPhotoStore.com, which I suspect might be an eBay front for the same vendor. Comments like "Fumfie.com was able to get me the Sony Handicam that no one else on the entire planet was able to get " and "these guys under promise and over deliver " also leave me wondering if they aren't just shills for the store.
Anything based in Brooklyn with "almost too good to be true" prices should raise some red flags. It's also a GoDaddy.com domain with a hidden proxy registrant. I could be wrong about all of the above, but it is not confidence inspiring, and I would not touch this vendor with a 10ft pole. YMMV.
Ron Andrews 

, Apr 08, 2009; 02:35 p.m.
Thanks for the input. I wasn't surprised that no one here had direct esperience because photo.netters would naturally be suspicious of this outfit. I found a similar thread at dpreview.
john fredicks , Jul 30, 2009; 06:34 p.m.
Absolutely a bait and switch company...When I said I didn't want any of the extra they tried to push, they then said I have to pay a $30 'shipping insurance' fee because my order was over $100. When I said no, they said they could lower it to $20.
I dropped out at this point. I'd rather pay $40 more to a reputable company then deal with them and their shady practices.