A Site for Photographers by Photographers

Home > Equipment > iPad: hands-on

Featured Equipment Deals

Latest Equipment Articles

4 Outdoor & Adventure Photo Packs Read More

4 Outdoor & Adventure Photo Packs

Photo packs have come a long way in the past decade, especially those that are targeted toward outdoor and adventure photographers. Alaska-based adventure photographer Dan Bailey takes a closer look...

Latest Learning Articles

A Brief History of Photography - Part II (Video Tutorial) Read More

A Brief History of Photography - Part II (Video Tutorial)

This video explores the second half of photography's history and development from the technological advances in the late 1800s through the beginnings of digital photography at the end of the 20th...


Apple iPad: a short-term hands-on review

Just a rambling opinion of Apple's newest ultra-hyped toy by Josh Root, April 2010 (updated June 2010)


Note from Josh: No, it’s not a photo specific device. But a lot of people have been asking me what I think of the iPad since they knew I had purchased one. So I decided to write this up.

So the Apple iPad is finally here. After over two months of hype and speculation, accusations and arguments, debate and worship, the thing has finally shipped and is in the hands of the early adopters. Well, sort of anyway. If you are one of the ones who chose to buy the 3G version, you are still waiting for that ship notice email from Apple (and will keep waiting for another couple of weeks).

But for those who chose the Wi-Fi only version, the worlds first mainstream successful tablet computer has arrived. How can I say successful when the iPad has only been out a week? Well, with 450,000 units sold in that week, I think we can say that it’s pretty successful. At the very least it’s going to be more successful than any other consumer tablet computer thus far. To be fair though, there haven’t been many of them. Anyhow, as I previously stated I would do, I ordered a wi-fi iPad to arrive on the first day they were released. After being asked by a number of photo.net members what my impressions of the thing were, I decided to write a short-term hands-on review.

Good stuff about the iPad

Here are some things that I was impressed with:

Performance

The iPad is a snappy performer. There is virtually no startup time, you just press the button and slide your finger across the screen to unlock it and the iPad is ready to use. Opening programs is much faster than doing the same thing on the iPhone as is switching between horizontal and vertical orientation. There are none of the random pauses and long load times that smartphone users have always had to live with. Websites open quickly and long pages display as fast as if you were reading them on your home computer. Overall Apple has done a great job with their homegrown A4 processor.

Screen

The iPad’s screen is really something to see. Bright and sharp with rich colors, both photos and video look great on the device. Its 1024×768 resolution may not sound like much in this day and age of external monitors with resolutions of 3840×2400. But the fact is that for whatever reason, the screen on the ipad looks wonderful. I have yet to talk to anyone who thought it was lacking in that department. The multi-touch interface has scaled up well from the iPhone/iPad devices. In fact, given the larger real-estate, you would have to say that the concept of multi-touch works even better on the larger form factor as you have more room to scroll, swipe, pinch, draw, etc. If I were a photographer who needed to have a portable digital portfolio, I can’t think of a better device than the iPad. Between its “looky here” new gadget factor, finger swipe navigation, and great looking screen, what could be better for getting an art director, bride, or editor’s attention?

Battery Life

In his initial presentation, Steve Jobs claimed a 10 hour battery life for the iPad. Unlike most other battery life claims in the electronics industry, I think Apple was underestimating the iPad’s numbers. While I haven’t done any scientific testing myself, every review that has done that testing seems to come out with at least 10 hours as the actual battery life, and often it’s somewhat more. Now, Apple could have been giving itself wiggle room knowing that the 3G version would use more power than the wifi. But the fact remains that battery life on the iPad is impressive. Of course, it had better be, because you can’t replace the battery yourself. If your battery craps out, it’s $99 out of your pocket to Apple for a replacement. Though they do apparently give you a whole new (refurbished?) iPad rather than just replacing your battery.

Screen Rotation Lock

Hallelujah we have made it to the mountain top! Well no, not really. But this feels like a much bigger deal than it really is to anyone who has tried to use their iPhone or iPad Touch to read in bed, curled up on the couch, or in any other position where the device is not exactly straight up and down. There was simply no way to keep the device from switching screen orientation if it thought that it should. It was frustrating and limited the usefulness of those devices. The iPad’s physical screen rotation lock is just the answer. Now no matter how contorted you are in your favorite chair, you and you alone can decide in which orientation you want the device to display content.

Speaker

This may seem like a small thing, but the speaker on the iPad is actually pretty good. Apple has a lot of strengths. But like all companies, it has its weaknesses as well. I have never been able to figure out why they can’t make a decent set of built in speakers for any of their devices. But the iPad speaker, while nothing that audiophiles would write home about, is plenty loud enough to watch videos or listen to a podcast in most situations. While I think that most people watching videos or listening to music on the iPad will be doing so via headphones, it’s nice to know that at least the option is there to use the speaker and actually hear something.


Text and photos © 2013 Josh Root.

Article revised June 2010.

Readers' Comments


Add a comment



Tim Garrett , April 09, 2010; 03:21 P.M.

Really wish such a device would arrive that's also pressure-sensitive (like the Wacom tablets and Cintiq line), so we could do artistic things to photographs using Photoshop, etc.

That's #1 on my wish-list: PRESSURE-SENSITIVITY

Dominique P , April 09, 2010; 10:28 P.M.

The iPad has potential to also be a LCD HDD picture storage on the road, at least for Jpegs (one would have to shoot RAW + jpeg I guess). The real boon would be a RAW converter for the iPad. Anybody can comment yet? I suppose not until the photo adapter is released.

Jessie Johnson , April 09, 2010; 10:33 P.M.

Time will tell but I suspect the term "toy" for an iPad is rather narrow thinking.

Michael McCathrin , April 10, 2010; 12:40 A.M.

I'm not bashing, but your article is not entirely accurate. Tablets have already been around for many years. I have one (true tablet, no keyboard) that is a pentium 3 (just to show how old they are) and it is smaller and has wifi, 802, SD & CF card slots, solid state hard drive, touch screen, and it is a full computer with external video outs. I use it for everything even GPS in the boat and car (free app's that are put out by the US Gov.) There are newer versions of this unit that are made by at least a half dozen manufactures. One from France even hangs on the refrigerator, and plays HD video.

The interface seems interesting on the Apple though. Their entering into this already existing market can only help the development of this kind of hardware.

Josh Root , April 10, 2010; 12:48 A.M.

Michael,

Please note that I said:

"the worlds first mainstream successful tablet computer has arrived"

Yes, there have been other tablets. No, none of them can be called "successful" and some of them not even "mainstream" in the computer industry.

Michael McCathrin , April 10, 2010; 01:33 A.M.

I don't know what you would call main stream, but the one that I have had at least 400,000 units sold world wide at a time when it was not common for everyone to even have a computer. It was used mostly for field use in business and scientific (thats who could afford computers then), but there have been other units sold by the same company, Fujitsu, and other companies that sold even more units. The aftermarket parts for these systems are a robust market, with some companies doing their entire business, making and selling parts and add-on's for these. Maybe a more accurate term would be average consumer level device. After all it appears it is geared towards the average user, In any case I am not going to buy one one It doesn't even do what a tablet that is ten years old does. disregarding the Apple interface. And I have personally seen an IPad, and tried it myself, as part on an evaluation, so I am familiar with its idiosyncrasies.

I other wise agree with you for the certain people that this is marketed towards it would be great, I'm just not one of those people. I actually don't know anyone that would get one. They all need more functionality in a portable system. I think this system has the potential to help reshape the already existing market so that the next generation of tablets will be more useful to everyday use, But as you put it there would need to be a path for innovation and closed systems usually stifle that to some degree. Moving - on - to - next - subject.

latter

Josh Root , April 10, 2010; 02:53 A.M.

Michael,

Fair enough. I would only point out that the 450,000 number is from the first week of sales for the iPad. No matter if the iPad turns out to be all that Steve Jobs wants it to be or if it fails like the Apple haters say it will, one thing I would happily bet money on is the fact that my statement about it being the most successful tablet thus far will be proven true in short order.

Now, that record may be broken quickly if Google or HP or whoever comes out with something better. But that still doesn't disprove my statement regarding the iPad vs tablets from the past.

Steve Waddell , April 10, 2010; 07:54 A.M.

I bought two iPads, a 16g wifi model, and a 64g 3g model. I'm using the wifi model until we can get it to my wife's father, who is undergoing speech therapy. He's dealing with some medical issues where he cannot remember the right words (the doctors have not ascertained the problem yet - altzheimers?) Anyhow, he's always been afraid of the computer, letting his wife use it and do all of the emailing. I am CERTAIN he will love an iPad! He loves watching the Weather Channel (for some reason, he can watch it for hours), and there are great apps I will install for him like the Weather Channel, but also Weather Bug. I will also put USA Today and other free apps that he will enjoy. I cannot think of a better product for him.

For me, my wife and I have our own small business that does government consulting and training. I also cannot think of a more useful product when visiting a customer or team partner and needing to review our corporate capabilities, a marketing presentation, etc. I don't have to bring my less portable laptop. The iPad has an "instant on" feature, I can quickly switch between apps, and with 3G, I can visit detail pages on our website.

The iPad is an AMAZING product, and its ability is only limited to the creativity of the developers, of which there are many, as evidenced by the number of iPhone apps I use. So I disagree with the author - it is a MAGICAL, REVOLUTIONARY DEVICE, particularly given the above uses I noted that were previously unavailable with any other solution. Imagine giving an HP Slate to my wife's father, who already would not use a computer. The Slate is running Windows 7, so there would be no benefit for him. I also cannot image how it will be cooled (the iPad needs no fan), or how responsive it will be at startup, or how quickly one will be able to switch between apps.

I also disagree that the lack of flash is worthy of calling it out as "bad stuff". Many websites are converting to HTML 5 or other solutions as a result of the lack of flash on the iPhone and other similar systems. This problem will go away over time.

I have had no Wi-Fi connectivity problems, and neither has the author. I have used my iPad with my Apple Airport Extreme Base Station, as well as the Linksys router I'm currently using it with while we are on vacation in the Outer Banks NC. I love the fact that the iPad supports 802.11n, and my download/upload speeds are great!

Dirty Screen - no big deal! It's not an issue while using it, and it wipes clean easily. What's the big deal? And as far as Ergonomics go, instead of saying there is a problem (there isn't), I think it is more fair to say that it is easily the easiest to use computer like product I have ever held.

In closing, while I am glad the author chose to write about the iPad, I also have to say I find it rather odd that this forum is all about PHOTOS, and the author did not mention how awesomely cool it is to link the iPad with your photos from either iPhoto or Aperture. Photos look amazing! And there is an excellent feature where when you first turn on the iPad, instead of swiping it to unlock it, you have the option to click on a flower adjacent to the unlock method, and your iPad will become a photo viewer, scrolling through whichever photo folder you have selected in the settings menu. So, if you are on the fence about the iPad, go for it. It is probably the best 1.0 version device I have ever had.

Steven Seelig , April 10, 2010; 10:58 A.M.

Josh, Thanks for the review! I have two interests in the iPad. The first as a portable portfolio device so I am wondering how well the device 'syncs' to Aperture? I guess you feel the image quality is acceptable.

The second is a reader (newspapers like yourself), but what do you know about magazines, such as 'Aperture', 'Rangefinder' and other photography magazines. Are those available yet? I find that I read an article or even a part of one, put it down and then a few days later try to find it. I would be great if I could hold a years worth so I could go back and find things of interest. Also, I will like to get rid of my physical tear our strategy and electronic bookmarking seems ideal.

Steve Waddell , April 10, 2010; 01:18 P.M.

Stephen,

I too wondered the same thing about Aperture since no one seems to mention it. I bought mine, and found that you have a choice to sync between iPhoto OR Aperture, and it works great with Aperture. Viewing photos on the iPad is awesome!

Steven Seelig , April 10, 2010; 06:06 P.M.

Steve How does it sync with Aperture? Upload to MobileMe or through iTunes or ?

Thanks

Paul Fogarty , April 10, 2010; 07:24 P.M.

Full disclosure... I'm a Windoze guy, Win7 Ultimate on a self built system, plus I work for an Apple Authorized Reseller and have been taking calls on the iPad all week! :-)

With that said, I was a tad skeptical regarding the usual hype surrounding the device, I thought it was "cool" in concept, but didn't think it would be for me. Then I got to play with one throughout last Wednesday, and have to say I was pretty much blown away. To people who have an iPod Touch or iPhone I'm preaching to the converted, but to the rest of my MS using brothers and sisters, to say the iPad is intuitive is a gross understatement, and this thing is fast, WICKED fast!

As I said, I'm using Win7 Ultimate, on a custom built 3GHz desk-top system, but with a Solid State System/Apps drive so it's quick, REALLY quick. By comparison the iPad is damned-near instantaneous; you turn it on and it's on, nothing seems to load or install, everything is just there ready to go, and it does so just as soon as you click those ubiquitous icons.

To Michael McCathrin, I know what you mean about tablets being around for a while! I played with the XP Tablet OS on a device many years ago, and while Win driven tablets have been successful in very specific vertical markets, they've never made it into the mainstream mainly because the devices have been relatively expensive, slow, and underpowered, for the AVERAGE user.

Just look at the “Slate,” HP's supposed “iPad Killer;” it's running on an Atom processor, with Win7 Home plus a touch interface... basically what we're looking at here is a Netbook minus the keyboard! Yes it has a camera, yes it can multitask, yes you can plug a stick-drive into it, but so what?

The Gen2 iPad will have a camera, everyone knows that, the new OS that's just been released, and will be ready for the iPad in the Fall/Autumn, gives you multitasking, the WiFi+3G iPads have a micro-SD card slot... wanna guess how long it'll be before the WiFi only devices get one? And just as an aside, it would seem logical that the Camera Adapter should be able to accept a stick-drive, although I haven't seen anything that confirms or denies that supposition as yet, but let's not forget, the whole concept of the iPad is that it's a WIRELESS device!

I've never owned a notebook because I've always considered them too bulky and clunky to drag around and do what I would need to do, ON THE GO, and conversely, “smart phones” are just too small! But I had an interesting conversation with one of my clients the other day, he's a professional photographer who lugs a 17” Macbook Pro with him everywhere he goes; after using the iPad for just under a week, he says he can see it replacing his Macbook Pro for at least 50% of the time he's out of the office... and once again, remember that this is a 1st Gen device!

As much as I'm not an Apple “fanboi” - I love my Win7 system for all it's faults, mainly the Win OS! LOL! - I do believe that Apple have come up with an absolute game-changing device that will profoundly alter the mobile computing experience for the majority of people going forward.

I personally think the “Slate” will be a bust, (there'll obviously be a market for it based on cost, just as there is for Netbooks), and I'll be interested in seeing what Google can come up with for their Chrome driven device, but I have a feeling that as soon as the 2nd Gen iPad is released with it's camera I'll be on board... hello multitasking video calls to family and friends in England via Skype from my favorite recliner!!! :-)

I think it's fair to say that for the vast majority of us the future of mobile computing will be “flat,” regardless of OS, and we'll have Apple to thank for it!

Kombizz Kashani , April 11, 2010; 04:03 A.M.

It seems this new device does not have a camera for conferencing.
I am waiting to touch one as soon as be available here.

Yakim Peled , April 11, 2010; 04:09 A.M.

Josh, I was very surprised to read nothing about the lack of USB ports. For me, this one of the two big issues that holds me from getting one (the other is the no flash support).

Happy shooting, Yakim.

Thair Khamas , April 12, 2010; 08:22 A.M.

The power connection can act as a USB connection.

Walter Burton , April 13, 2010; 06:13 A.M.

"Yes it has a camera, yes it can multitask, yes you can plug a stick-drive into it, but so what?"

Good grief. My Motorola Droid (mobile phone) is more powerful than an iPad in every single department. Yes, I've played with the iPad plenty; yes I'm talking about processor and memory ***scaled***. Nevermind the current generation of far more powerful (and readily available) Tablet PCs; many with default UIs that are just as compelling and just as idiot-proof.

Such interesting details are quite important to many users, especially when calculating price-performance ratios.

The iPad is a typically crippled vanity product from Apple. Its severely limited functionality is fine for many casual and simplistic requirements, but anyone thinking they might do even the SLIGHTEST bit of productivity work on one may want to do a proper analysis and consider the advantages of a Tablet PC over a locked-down Tablet Computer.

Jennifer Spencer , April 14, 2010; 12:23 A.M.

I too am concerned about the lack of USB ports. Thair, you said the power input could be used as a USB port? Is there any way to hook up a USB hard drive to the iPad for extra storage, do you think? Is there even enough device recognition to get away with it?

I am thinking of the case of the photographer on the road for a fairly long time, shooting raw, not able to upload the contents of his Compact Flash cards to the internet/cloud for maybe as long as ten days. The iPad has something like 60 Gb of disk drive space, but that might not be enough for 10 days shooting in RAW. Would the iPad be a viable tool for this case?

Walter Burton , April 14, 2010; 12:47 A.M.

@Jennifer: It sounds as if something such as an Archos multimedia device would be more cost-effective and more ergonomically practical.

Steve Waddell , April 14, 2010; 06:55 A.M.

Steven Seelig: It syncs to your Aperture files when connected to your mac via USB. In addition to being able to creatively view all of your projects (tap to expand and view, pinch to reduce, etc.) , you then have the option to choose which folder will be viewed when using the device as a picture frame. That's what happens when you first turn the unit on, and instead of swiping to unlock, you press the flower image to the right of the unlock slider. It will scroll through the images within a particular folder of your choosing, and you can preset the speed it scrolls with.

Pretty cool!

Steve Waddell , April 14, 2010; 06:59 A.M.

Yakim Paled, Jennifer Spencer -

Apple has the perfect solution for you: Apple iPad Camera Connection Kit

The iPad Camera Connection Kit gives you two ways to import photos and videos from a digital camera: using your camera’s USB cable or directly from an SD card. iPad and the Camera Connection Kit support standard photo formats, including JPEG and RAW.

Here's a link to the item from the Apple store, where you can buy it for only $29: http://store.apple.com/us/product/MC531ZM/A?fnode=MTc0MjU4NjE&mco=MTcyMTgxODY

Steve Waddell , April 14, 2010; 07:01 A.M.

Walter Burton - the Droid is a dog. I've used one, and it can't touch the functionality / integration of the iPhone. That said, to each his own, so have fun with it.

Yakim Peled , April 14, 2010; 07:14 A.M.

>> Yakim Paled, Jennifer Spencer -

Apple has the perfect solution for you: Apple iPad Camera Connection Kit

YMMV but I think that spending another 29$ is just infuriating. It's not so much the price by itself but the very idea that apple requires you to spend more money to get something that is a standard in all computers.

Happy shooting, Yakim.

Ryan Ramos , April 16, 2010; 01:05 P.M.

Great review.....as soon as you stop thinking that its a laptop replacement, then you'll start embracing it.

Mark Ci , April 18, 2010; 12:24 A.M.

"Tablet PCs; many with default UIs that are just as compelling"

 

Uh..no.  Just...no.

Gerald Skrocki , April 18, 2010; 03:56 P.M.

NOT a true tablet computer because it has no stylus input, handwriting recognition, limited storage and no usb or firewire connectivity I used a TRUE tablet PC in college (Electrovaya) which was great for note taking and researching on the internet as well as running any application. The iPad is an entertainment device, a large iPod.

Walter Burton , April 18, 2010; 06:24 P.M.

There's a significant difference between a mere tablet computer and an actual tablet PC. Which is why I used the terms the way I did.

Steve Waddell , April 19, 2010; 06:37 A.M.

Gerald Skrocki "The iPad is a large entertainment device"

Very shortsighted thinking.  Just last week, I gave a corporate overview presentation to a new team partner using my new iPad; we are teaming on a $500k dollar opportunity.  It's use for that meeting had nothing to do with entertainment.  That kind of closed-minded thinking won't take you very far in life.

Richard G , April 27, 2010; 06:57 P.M.

Excellent review which addresses the questions of those enthusiastic and sceptical. I should wait for 2.0 as you suggest, but after reading this I don't think I want to wait. I've been using my iPhone and before that my iPod Touch like I will use an iPad so the sooner I get one the better.

Rene GM , April 28, 2010; 12:59 P.M.

Yes, an excellent review, and excellent comments. Thanks to all of you!

I am doing a lot of things on my netbook, I cannot do with an IPod. E.g., I can connect it to a large LCD and do image editing with Photoshop (a bit slower, but workable). Or I can bluetooth to my GPS geotracker, or a Wacom tablet. I can install my choice of browsers. I can run Eclipse or Visual C++, and work on my software. I can run Skype with an excellent Logitex Pro 900 webcam. I can run my Java programs. I can play card games on line via flash.

Yet, for the price, maybe I should consider ... After all, I know how good Apple can look ...

Steve Waddell , April 28, 2010; 03:44 P.M.

For anyone living in Hampton Roads, VA - there is an iPad Business RoundTable being held tonight at the Apple Store in MacArthur Mall in Norfolk.  Hope to see you there!

Daniel Flather , May 05, 2010; 12:39 A.M.

An iPad running on a smaller version of Snow Leopard, —Baby Snow Leopard.  

 

/dream

Victor Carmelo Sciberras , May 12, 2010; 07:00 P.M.

Steve Waddell - Apple iPad Camera kit,

 

Hi Steve I have an old device like the above although it only connects the camera to the iPod, looks identical but as its old, I don't suppose it will work with the iPad, what you think?

Thanks and regards Vic

Steve Waddell , May 13, 2010; 04:41 P.M.

Victor,

I couldn't tell you for certain if it would work.  However, what I would recommend would be to go to Best Buy or an Apple store near you, and using one of their display models, try it out! Give it a shot, couldn't hurt.  Good luck!

Victor Carmelo Sciberras , May 13, 2010; 06:01 P.M.

Thanks Steve,

 

I would have done so but my Apple Store in Exeter and most probably all Uk and European stores have no iPads yet as delivery here was delayed to the 28th of this month on account of all the available iPads were sold in the US, (we have to pre order). I will do so as soon as we see them here.

 

Thanks Vic 

John W. Wall , May 20, 2010; 04:00 P.M.

Keyboards?! Tell Apple to get back to me when someone produces a voice-recognition app.

Steve Waddell , May 21, 2010; 06:58 A.M.

John Wall - "Tell Apple to get back to me when someone produces a voice recognition app"........

Apparently, you haven't looked. 

Dragon Dictation is available in the App store with a separate app for the iPhone and the iPad, and both are FREE.  

NA G , May 30, 2010; 09:43 P.M.

Josh,

Thanks for this write-up. For people wanting a tablet that can do it all there are options. MotionComputing.com has some nice tablets. Me I ordered the iPad because I know what it can do for me and it was only $500. I can't stand Apple as a company but right now the iPad is the cheapest S-IPS portable display out there that I am aware of.

Jane Charles , June 10, 2010; 04:09 A.M.

Nice review.

yeah, now along with the iOS4 released, iPad is on fire again!

I, Not a fangirl - that said, I just might be one now.... the iPad has already changed the way I do my work - the iPad is here to stay!
I love my iPad. It has almost completely replaced my personal computer. For the things I do... Is is perfect! Much nicer than any CPU I have ever owned. All my other computers would do a lot of things I would never use it for, and do it painfully in the process (slow, buggy, etc.). When you get down to what you do most on you personal computer... the iPad does almost all of the things an average user needs, and with a much much nicer U/I. Easy of use, fast, and efficient. The other computer manufacturers could learn a thing or two from this, but even if they do... they will probably screw-up the one they come out with by adding all the crap back in again. Ugggggg!!!!

I am sticking with my iPad. I think other will do the same once they try it and realize it is the perfect personal computer :-)
And some of my collections: http://www.ifunia.com/ipad-column/index.html
www.ipadhelpguide.net/
make the cool device more fun.

David W. Griffin , June 15, 2010; 04:33 P.M.

I have a 64GB 3g Ipad and have had for about a month. I lock it into the keyboard dock at work and use a wireless keyboard when I need it at home and on the go. I bring it to meetings and take notes. I use it to read book more or less continuously. I use it to keep track of my food (for purposes of monitoring and improving my diet in the care of a nutritionist). I get my news on it and use it to show pictures to others. I play some games and read some comic books. I also use it to organize my recipes. I use it for occasional skype audio calls. And I use it to read email and browse the web. It works very well for me and I wouldn't like to do without it.

M Lee , October 19, 2010; 06:44 A.M.

A USB port on the iPad is a waste of time as the iPad renames all the downloaded files into names like FKLY.jpg and stores them into it's own file system.

You can't sort them , move them to different folders or retreive them or rename them.

You can only do this on your computer then sync them to the iPad.

There a number of applications that promise to do all this but.. I haven't found one that works.

 

 

Patrick Lavoie , October 19, 2010; 08:47 A.M.

how can a USB port on a Ipad can be a waste of time? you can use it to send image to TV, to projector, copy your image... and by the way, it must be the software you use to transfert your image because on my ipad and my imac the image are call with the useless name of IMG_xxxxx.jpg as they are use to be call since i cant remember in any software i use...

 

maybe its time you check your setting before ranting about it ; )

 

 

M Lee , October 20, 2010; 05:42 A.M.

I'm a photographer and my primary use is to show off my portfolio, using the native "photo" application.I need to organize my pictures by album and sort within the albums.The customer can then use the "native" Photos application on their own and enjoy playing with the pictures and iPad.

I've spent time and money looking a different applications that promise "connectivity" via USB, ftp, WiFi etc.

All they do is turn the iPad into a fancy USB stick or message server.

The only product that "just about" does it, is iTunes.

Please find me a product to manage my albums/folders, sort rename, on iPad "Photo". 

Thanks

Patrick Lavoie , October 20, 2010; 07:16 A.M.

you can use dropbox to receive and send images easily. you can use iphoto to manage your images, color correct them and create folder / subfolder.

you can also use lightroom to do all that and use use itune to simply managed the transfert.

on the ipad theres also a really good portfolio with image management.. dont recall is name .. but check the apple store its easy to find.

on the other end, a ipad is not a computer, you have to use it for what it is and for me it is way more than just a portable HD like epson Pwhatever... it is a tool that when you fully understand what you can and cant do with it , certainly make your digital life enjoyable.

u want a laptop.. get a laptop.

M Lee , October 20, 2010; 08:02 A.M.

"really good portfolio with image management."

Yes what is it?

Pity, the beautiful screen and touch technology is wasted, on all the stuff you mention.

 

Steve Waddell , October 20, 2010; 08:06 A.M.

You obviously do not have an iPad, which is why you don't know what you're talking about.

Patrick Lavoie , October 20, 2010; 08:27 A.M.

portfolio for ipad 14.99$

M Lee , December 05, 2010; 05:43 P.M.

The new iPad 4.2 OS is Bad news.

I could attach a usb multiCard reader to the iPad and upload pictures to the iPad at events to show them off using the old OS. The new 4.2 OS can't do this any more. Says not enough power in the USB device.

The old OS, same box, had enough power.

E. J. , January 29, 2011; 07:12 A.M.

First, in the way of a disclosure -- I'm totally Apple enabled from my X-Serve to my iPods. I have had my iPad for six months now and it is the one device that goes everywhere with me. My laptop now stays home 80% of the time. I continue to find new uses for the iPad. I wish the world had better connectivity. The one thing that continues to annoy is the bandwidth of the pipes into the device -- whether WiFi of 3G. But that is infrastructure, not the device. I was at a technology trade association committee meeting in DC this week -- iPads everywhere (one airbook), no Windows laptops, which used to be the norm. Can you say "Revolutionary?"

Steve Waddell , January 29, 2011; 01:25 P.M.

Revolutionary Indeed!

King Neptune (VA Beach, VA)

I'm waiting on iPad 2 now!  Bring it on Apple.... dual core processor, camera front and rear for Facetime with relatives and others (we have a programmer in Edinburgh Scotland!), 1080p streaming.....can't wait!

Oh, and while I'm at it, here's a pretty cool photo I took with my iPhone 4 at the Neptune Festival in VA Beach last fall.  It was at night, with no extra lighting other than what is already there.  The nighttime background made for an interesting perspective.  It's certainly not the quality of the other photos on photo.net, I just thought it looked pretty cool.

 

BTW- regarding business applications, if you use SharePoint, give SharePlus a try, it works great on both the iPad and iPhone.  We're using SharePoint for our proposal process, and having it on the iPad is an added bonus.  

 

Alan Graf , March 26, 2011; 07:44 P.M.

I would have to say, since iPad does not have a USB port it is a little bit tricky getting photos there in the first place (unless you have dropbox :-).

However the biggest benefits of the iPad comes in handling the photography business. It really helps organizing contracts, planning a photo shoot etc. Find out how does iPad help photographers in

8 useful apps for photographers article

Cole Paquette , May 06, 2011; 11:03 P.M.

great review, really helpful.

I just wanted to mention that: jailbreaking violates he user agreement terms, and basically allows apple to never help you with device issues, instantly voids the warranty, and all sorts of other unpleasant things.

but, the iPad is probably a better buy, considering motorola (with their amazing xoom tablet, the only real competition to the iPad) is supposedly undergoing financial issues.

 

hmmm, maybe someone needs to submit a xoom review.

CC Chang , November 30, 2011; 02:20 P.M.

As a parent of two young children, I am so grateful that Apple keeps its iTune store free of porn, violence, and "freedom of expression." 


Add a comment



Notify me of comments