A Site for Photographers by Photographers

Home > Equipment > Canon > Canon EOS 5D MkIII Preview

Featured Equipment Deals

Ten Steps to Get Creative & Authentic Family Photographs Read More

Ten Steps to Get Creative & Authentic Family Photographs

Photographer Stacy Bostrom shares ten tips to make your family photography more creative by capturing the beautiful imperfection of life.

Latest Equipment Articles

4 Outdoor & Adventure Photo Packs Read More

4 Outdoor & Adventure Photo Packs

Photo packs have come a long way in the past decade, especially those that are targeted toward outdoor and adventure photographers. Alaska-based adventure photographer Dan Bailey takes a closer look...

Latest Learning Articles

25 Autumn Scenery Photos Read More

25 Autumn Scenery Photos

Fall is upon us yet again and to celebrate this colorful season, here are 25 scenes of autumn captured by photo.net members.


Canon EOS 5D MkIII Hands-on Preview

by Bob Atkins, March 2012 (updated May 2012)


Earlier this week I was invited to attend a meeting with Canon at which Chuck Westfall provided details of the new Canon EOS 5D MkIII that was officially announced today. While I was able to closely examine the camera and several new accessories that were released along with it, the camera was a pre-production model and Canon did not want any images taken with that camera published since it may not have had the final version of the production camera firmware and so it’s possible (but probably unlikely) that the images might not be fully representative of what the production camera with the final firmware can achieve. Once we receive a production camera to test, we will be able to publish image samples. I don’t know when that will be but we’ve certainly put in a request for the first available camera to review.


Well, the EOS 5D MkIII will not come as a big surprise to anyone who has been listening to rumors over the last year or more. As time has gone on those rumors have become louder and more specific, but here are the actual facts about the new EOS 5D MklII. I suppose it now time for the EOS 7D MkII or EOS 5D MkIV rumors to start up….

The Canon EOS 5D MkIII

  • An entirely new 22.3MP CMOS sensor with a gapless microlens design and 8 channel readout
  • A 61 point high density AF system with 41 cross sensors (also found in the new EOS 1D X)
  • AF rated to -2EV
  • A 63 Zone iFCL metering system (also found on the EOS 7D)
  • A 59ms lag time shutter assembly, rated for 150,000 cycles
  • “Silent Shooting” mode which slows down reflex mirror and shutter recocking for lower noise levels.
  • Dual axis electronic levels
  • Digic 5+ processor (30% faster thah Digic 5, 17x faster than Digic 4)
  • Continuous shooting at 6 frames/sec
  • Unlimited buffer for JPEGs, approx a 35 shot buffer for RAW files
  • Native ISO settings of 100-25600 with expansion to 50-102400
  • JPEGs with approximately 2 stops noise advantage over the EOS 5D MkII
  • In-camera HDR. 3 images taken at +/- 3 stop intervals. In-camera image alignment
  • In-camera multiple exposures (as in the new EOS 1D-X)
  • AEB for 2,3,5 or & fames at up to +/- 3 stops
  • Exposure compensation of up to +/- 5 stops
  • First 4 characters of file name customizable by user
  • Dual memory cards, CF and SD/SDHC/SDXC, with selectable or simultaneous file storage
  • 100% viewfinder with 0.71x magnification, 22mm eyepoint and 34.1 degree viewing angle.
  • Menu structure similar to that of the EOS 1D-X
  • USB 2.0 connectivity
  • Weatherproofed more than the EOS 7D, but less than the 1D-X
  • 1080HD video with manual audio control (audio level visible on screen) and an audio monitoring outlet
  • Selectable ALL-1 or IPB compression for video files, H.264 standard.
  • Embedded time codes in video files
  • Full readout of every pixel for video, with lower Moire fringing in final images
  • “Quiet” control (capacitive touch dial) for silent adjustment of camera while shooting video
  • An estimated retail price of $3499 for the EOS 5D MkIII body, $4299 for the body + EF24-105/4L IS USM lens
  • The EOS 5D MkII will not be discontinued, but the price will be lowered
  • The EOS 5D MkIII should start shipping by the end of April 2012

In addition to the EOS 5D MkIII, several new accessories were simultaneously announced:


22.3MP CMOS Sensor

From the details of Canon’s presentation and from the detailed camera specifications it’s clear that Canon have put a higher priority on improving the intrinsic quality of the Canon EOS 5D MkIII’s images than on developing a camera with the highest possible pixel count. In fact the pixel count has gone up by a negligible amount from the 5d MkII, from 21MP to 22.3MP but that’s a very minor part of the sensor story. The new sensor is an entirely new design with a gapless microlens and a new pixel structure. The gapless microlens concentrates more of the light onto the photosensitive pixel surface resulting in a great “photon to electron” conversion. This higher efficiency, combined with the new design results in significantly lower noise than the 5D MkII sensor. Canon showed sample images which indicated that JPEGs from the EOS 5D MkIII at ISO 3200 showed a noise level similar to those taken at ISO 800 with the EOS 5D MkII. RAW files also show lower noise levels, though not by as big a margin as the camera generated JPEGs.


14-bit data is read from the new sensor array via an 8 channel link rather than the 4 channel system used by the EOS 5D MkII. That means that the data can be readout much faster with helps with both continuous still shooting and especially with video readout. With the EOS 5D MkII lines of data were skipped when reading the sensor for video shooting in order to obtain the necessary throughput. With the 5D MkIII every pixel is read, even when shooting 1080HD video at 30 frames/sec. Maximum still shooting rate is 6 frames per second. When shooting JPEGs with a fast memory card the buffer is unlimited and you can shoot at 6 frames/sec until the memory card(s) are full (maximum rate with the 5D MkII was 3.9 frames.sec). When shooting RAW images the buffer size is around 35 frames, after which the frame rate will slow down.


Autofocus


The autofocus system of the 5D MkIII is also far better than that of the 5D MkII and uses the same AF sensor system that is used in the new flagship Canon EOS 1D X. There are 61 autofocus zones in a high density array with 41 of those zones using cross type sensors. The AF zones cover 51% of the horizontal frame width (vs. 41% for the %D MkII). There are 5 central AF zones which are high precision when used with lenses with an aperture of f2.8 or faster, and 20 cross zones which give high precision AF with lenses of f4.0 and faster. Note that the EOS 5D MkIII does not support the iTR AF mode which is supported by the 1D-X. The 1D-X uses dual Digic 5+ processors plus a dedicated Digic 4 for the AF system which enables it to handle the focus data for iTR AF at a fast enough rate. The 5D MkIII has a single Digic 5+ processor.


Metering


The metering system of the 5D MkIII is also greatly improved over that of the 5d MkII. The 5D MkIII now used the same 63 zone iFCL metering arrangement as the EOS 7D. Metering takes into account color and focus as well as measured light intensity when calculating optimum exposure. The metering system can detect when the light source is flickering (e.g. some fluorescent lighting) and make compensations to try to ensure accurate exposure.


The shutter mechanism of the the 5D MkIII has a lag time is around 59ms and the shutter is rated for 150,000 cycles.The 5d MkIII uses a new mirror mechanism and it has a “silent mode” where the mirror speed is slowed down to reduce noise. Shutter cocking in silent mode is also slowed down to further reduce noise. Maximum frame rate in silent mode is lower than that when the camera is operating in normal high speed shooting mode (3fps vs 6fps). Otherwise the shutter specs of the 5D MkIII are similar to those of the 7D, with a range of 1/8000s to 30s plus B and a maximum sync speed of 1/200s (the 7D is 1/250s)


Storage


Data storage on the 5D MkIII is via dual memory cards. There is one slot for a CF card and one for an SD/SDHC/SDXC card. Data of any given type (JPEG, RAW, mRAW, sRAW) can be assigned to either card, Jpegs can be written to one card while RAW files are written to the other or both cards can record the same data simultaneously in order to give an instant backup of important images. The cards normally use the FAT32 file system but the 5D Mark III supports exFAT not only for SDXC but also for CF cards with storage capacities greater than 128GB. Maximum card size isn’t specified, but Canon commented that the latest 256GB cards work just fine and larger cards should work in the future. I can’t say for sure if the full 2TB limit of the file systems will be fully supported, but I think the day of 2TB cards is probably far enough away that it’s not really much of a concern (not to mention such cards would likely cost more than the camera…). UDMA mode 7 is supported.


HDR and Multiple Exposures


The EOS 5D MkIII has a couple of multiple exposure modes. The first is the same as that found on the EOS 1D X where you can combine multiple images via several user select able blending modes (e.g. average, additive, bright, dark). The second is a true HDR multi exposure mode. The camera will combine 3 exposure taken at up to +/- stops exposure difference. There is in-camera image alignment (provided that the differences between the 3 images are fairly small) and the resulting HDR image can be tone mapped in various ways to give the desired effect. While not as controllable as using an external post exposure HDR generating program, in-camera HDR generation is obviously much faster with results which can be instantly reviewed. The HDR image is saved as a JPEG.


DPP Update

While all images are shot and recorded full frame, 1:1, 4:3 and 16:9 framing guides are available and RAW files are tagged with the selected aspect ratio information for use in the supplied Canon DPP Raw processing software. A new version of DPP will be supplied with a few extra features. One is a comprehensive abbe ration correction feature which will initially operate when one of 29 selected lenses are used with camera .CR2 files generated by cameras available since 2006. I’d assume that would include the EOS 7D, EOS 1D-X, EOS 5D MkIII, EOS 5D MkII, EOS 1Ds MkIII, EOS 1Ds MkIV, EOS 1D MkIV, EOS 50D and 60D and the EOS Rebel T1i, T2i, T3i and T3. Corrections for just about all lens aberrations including, spherical aberration, longitudinal and transverse chromatic aberration, coma, astigmatism, distortion and vignetting can be applied to the image to maximize sharpness and image quality.


Video

When it comes to video, the EOS 5D mkIII has a numberimprovements over the 5D MkII. Video frames are smaller than the native resolution of the sensor and so the image must be downsampled. With the 5D MkII in order to read out data from the sensor fast enough, a line skipping technique was used. The 5D mklII is fast enough to read out all the data from the sensor at video rates and downsize the image to the selected video format. This, combined with appropriate firmware, results in lower Moire patterning video image. of Moire patterning.


HD video uses the standard H.264 codec, but as with the 1D-X there is a choice between ALL-1 and IPB compression schemes. IPB is Bi-directional compression and basically records differences between frames. IPB produces the smallest files but at the cost of quality. ALL-1 is Intra-coded Frame where each frame is individually compressed. While files are 3x larger than IPB compressed files, image quality is higher and less processor power is required for playback. The EOS 5D MkIII also supports the recording of timecodes in video files.


The 5D MkIII has a headphone outlet for monitoring of the audio signal which is lacking on the EOS 5D MkII. Audio record level is manually adjustable and can be diaplayed on the LCD screen. For those wondering if the EOS 5D MkIII can stream uncompressed HDMI video, the answer is no, it can’t.


The EOS 5D MkIII has no video crop mode analogous to that on the EOS 60D where only the center 640×480 pixels are used to record VGA video. In the case of the 60D this gives an effective 7x video digital multiplier. The EOS 7D and EOS 1D-X also lack this feature.


Thoughts and Conclusions

I’m sure there will be a lot of attempts to compare the new Canon EOS 5D MkIII with the new Nikon D800, though until someone has the opportunity to shoot them side by side and compare images, much of the discussion will be pure speculation based on nothing but guesswork (or wishful thinking or maybe pixel envy!). It would seem (and I emphasize “seem”) that it’s likely that the EOS 5D MkIII images will show lower noise (which in turn usually means higher dynamic range) then those from the Nikon D800. I base this on both the relative pixel sizes of the two cameras and their ISO ranges (the ISO limit of the D800 is 2 stops lower than that of the 5D MkIII). However only side by side testing will reveal the actual difference and since I doubt that anyone has had both cameras in their hands at the same time, I’m assuming that nobody has yet had an opportunity to do that.


Additionally (and this part isn’t guesswork!), the D800 should initially sell for $500 less than the 5D MkIII and it has a built in flash which can be also be used for wireless control of external flash units. The 5D MkIII has no built-in flash and requires either a wireless speedlite controller or a hot-shoe speedlite capable of acting as a wireless master controller to control an off camera flash. The D800 also offers USB 3.0 while the EOS 5D MkIII has USN 2.0 and for serious video shooters, the D800 offers streaming live uncompressed video from its HDMI port, while the EOS 5D MkIII doesn’t. All of these factors “favor” the Nikon D800.


Of course both cameras have a host of features that can be compared. Nobody yet knows how the video form the two cameras will look. The 5D MkIII reads out every pixel from the sensor and from examples shown by Canon that factor, in conjunction with processing algorithms, has greatly reduced the intensity of Moire patterns which appear in the video images as a result of the required downsizing process (from the full sensor resolution to the 1920 × 1080 resolution of 1080HD video). I don’t know if the D800 reads out all 36.3MP for every video frame, but I suspect it doesn’t and that it samples pixels by a technique such as line skipping. Reports I’ve read seem to suggest that it does in fact skip lines, though I don’t know for sure. If so that could result in lower quality video (increased Moire patterning). However again, only actual side by side testing will tell the real story and that hasn’t yet been done by anyone.


So it would seem that, as might be expected, the Nikon vs. Canon battle still continues with each camera (D800 and 5D MkIII) having its own strengths and weaknesses when compared to the other. It should be an interesting “fight”.


Whatever the competition, the EOS 5D MkIII clearly represents a very positive upgrade of the 5D MkII. In particular the improved “state of the art” AF system should please a lot of photographers who weren’t fully satisfied by the rather more basic AF system of the 5D MkII. Pretty much every system and subsystem has been upgraded. So while the 5D MkIIis very good and has been widely praised over the last few years, the 5D MkIII looks like it will be even better!

Where to Buy

When you are ready to buy, please help to support Photo.net by purchasing through one of our retail partners.

Canon 5D MkIII
Price as low as $3229.00 from 5 retailers
$3229.00
$3499.00
$3799.00
$3999.00
$3999.00

Canon 5D Mk III Body & 24-105/4 lens kit, (compare prices) (review). From the Canon website: Canon is proud to present the highly anticipated EOS 5D Mark III. With supercharged EOS performance and stunning full frame, high-resolution image capture, the EOS 5D Mark III is designed to perform. Special optical technologies like the 61-Point High Density Reticular AF and an extended ISO range of 100-25600 (expandable to 50 (L), 51200 (H1) and 102400 (H2) make the EOS 5D Mark III ideal for shooting weddings in the studio or out in the field, and great for still photography.


The Canon 600EX-RT Speedlite

The Canon 600-EX-RT has both optical and wireless E-TTL built in and can trigger compatible slave units to to 30m (98ft) away. With the 5D MkIII or EOS 1-D X it can control up to 15 slave speedlites in up to 5 groups. The flash head zooms to cover lenses from 20mm to 200mm. In optical mode it is fully compatible with all prior optically-based Wireless E-TTL Speedlites. The estimated retail price is $629.99 and the 600EX-RT should be available by the end of March 2012.



The Canon ST-E3-RT Wireless Speedlite Controller

The Canon ST-E3-RT Wireless Speedlite Controller provides full support for the wireless baseed E-TTL flash technology introduced with the 600EX-RT and supports up to 5 groups of flashes up to a distance of 30m (98ft) away. It has a remote shutter release capably allowing a single camera shutter to be triggered or up to 15 remote cameras via a linked shooting feature. The ST-E3-RT can be configured via the Flash control menu of the EOS-1D X or EOS 5D MkIII cameras or by the built in controls and LCD. The estimated retail proice of the ST-E3-RT is $470 and availability is expected to be late March 2012


The Canon BG-E11 Grip and Battery Pack

The Battery Grip BG-E11 accepts two LP-E6 batteries or 6 AA cells. It’s equiped with a multicomtroller button as well as a mutifunction (M.Fn) button as well as the usual grip controlsand shutter release to enable easy shooting in both portrait and landscape modes. The body is made of magnesium alloy and the grip is weatherselaed. The estimated retail price is $490 and availability is scheduled for the end of April 2012.



The Canon GP-E2 GPS unit

The Canon GPS Receiver GP-E2 cab be connected to the camera via the hot shoe or a USB cable. There is a built in logging feature which records latitude, longitude, elevation and time which records the camera’s location even when not shooting. The same information can be tagged to images, along with the direction in which the camera is pointing via a built in compas function. The GP-E2 is compatible with the EOS 5D MkIII, the EOS-1D X and the EOS 7D. However when used with the 7D the following restrictions will apply: a) geotagging function will not work for movies while recording; b) geotagging features will not work for movies when using the Map Utility; c) electronic compass information and automatic time setting is not available; d) transmission via the hot shoe is not possible. The estimated retail price of the GP-E2 is $390 and it’s scheduled to be available by the end of April.



The Canon WFT-E7A Wireless File Transmitter

The Canon WFT-E7A Wireless File Transmitter provides wireless LAN support for 802.11 a/b/g/n signal protocols. It connects to the camera via the USB port and includes a built-in gigabit Ethernet connection, time syncing for multiple cameras on the same network, FTP mode, EOS Utility mode, WFT Server mode and Media Server mode. Clocks can be synchronized on multiple cameras. Bluetooth-compatible equipment can be linked to the WFT. The estimated retail price is $849.99 and it should be available by the end of April 2012.

Additional Images


Text and photos © 2013 Bob Atkins.

Article revised May 2012.

Readers' Comments


Add a comment



Yakim Peled , March 02, 2012; 01:17 A.M.

Finally, a body that matches the sensor. Well done Canon.

 

Happy shooting,

Yakim.

Dave Travvel , March 02, 2012; 07:01 A.M.

Thank your very much. Now lets see the images :) I think this camera will be great in low light .

Brendan Trewartha , March 02, 2012; 07:53 A.M.

Looking forward to seeing some images, with no significant increase in sensor resolution, I would expect to see a big improvement in dynamic range and low light noise performance when compared to the 5D MkII. This would definitely need to be the case if I am to upgrade from the MkII.

Charcoal Happy , March 02, 2012; 02:35 P.M.

Does the mkIII finally have an AF assist light for low light photography?

 

Can you equip the mkIII with a split screen?

 

If both answers are no, I don't see much interest to buy 1.2 and 1.4 lenses.

 

 

Bob Atkins , March 02, 2012; 04:39 P.M.

As far as I know the 5D MkIII does not have a built in AF assist light. I believe Canon's response might be that low light AF illumination, if you really need it,  is best done via a shoe mounted speedlite.

However note that the AF system is now good down to -2EV, which lessens the need for AF assist. That's 1.5 stops darker than the 5D MkII and corresponds to around 4 seconds at f1.0 at ISO 100. That's pretty dark.

The Canon specs describe the focusing screen as "fixed" and they list no screens as accessories for the 5D MkIII, so I assume that means you're not going to get a split screen (or any other type of screen). The 1-D X does have interchangeable screens.

Pepe Alvarez , March 02, 2012; 05:40 P.M.

No mention is made of autofocus in video.  Is it possible that we are still stuck on preset focus?  I'm blown away!!!!!

Bob Atkins , March 02, 2012; 06:24 P.M.

No AF during video shooting. 

Alex Elias , March 02, 2012; 09:15 P.M.

Very exited with the specs. Hopefully by the time I gatherer the funds it won't be quite $3500. 

Bob Atkins , March 02, 2012; 11:17 P.M.

I wouldn't hold my breath for price drops. As I recall the 5D MkII started out life at $2699 and the street price today (over 3 years later) is $2399 (and that's after a $100 rebate), so the price hasn't exactly plummeted!

Canon said the price of the 5D MkII would now drop since they are keeping it in the lineup along with the 5D MkIII, but by the time the 5D MkIII becomes more "affordable", the 5D Mk IV may be waiting in the wings!

 

Damian Tinsley , March 03, 2012; 02:12 P.M.

I want one. 

As an amateur 20D user, building a lens system around a full frame camera and seeking something that beats the venerable 20D in every department - this is it.  When's it available again?

Bob Atkins , March 12, 2012; 01:28 A.M.

Just a note that Canon's "estimated retail price" for the EOS 5D MkII is now $2199, a drop of $300 from the previous value. I don't know when vendors will start discounting the new price.

Vasilis Caravitis , March 23, 2012; 12:45 A.M.

Most of the improvements make not much sense to me. Perhaps few people are really moved by these. I had expected autofocus in video mode and the good old film camera EOS 5 feature of eye-controlled autofocus that Canon dropped in its digital cameras and which I miss. I have no strong desire to upgrade to MK III from my current MK II.

Hernest Ernesti Luchino , March 24, 2012; 08:59 A.M.

In too many years i have changed and followed with great anxiety the changes and updates of bodies of various cameras.Nikon, HASSELBLAD,Sony,Canon, H1,and money, money, money!!! .Many times all this was unuseful and sometime without motivation. The only great limit(ihmo) of my 5DMK2 in sport shots in lower light is autofocus..Rumor is an element less negative  than autofocus, that sometimes gave me relavant problems.For the change of the body i need .to test well the new autofocus of the 5dmk3.

Jon Austin , March 26, 2012; 05:51 P.M.

I bought a 5D (Mark I) five years ago to serve as my main camera. The 5D Mark III is the body I've been waiting for since the 7D was released.

I passed on the 5D Mark II, because I didn't need its higher resolution (still don't) or video, which are the major enhancements of the 5DII over the 5DI.

It would be nice if the 5DIII's "medium" file size was closer to the 11mp of the 5DII or the 14mp of the 1Dx, but 9.8 is usable. (By the way, how does the camera produce a medium size file ... in-body downsampling?)

Prior to the release of the 5DIII, I had been planning to buy one to replace my 5DI, and a 7D to replace my 20D. But given the 5DIII's price and 1.7x higher resolution (compared to the 5DI), I'll probably just use the 5DI as my backup body, and crop down 5DIII images when I need the longer reach. If that approach fails to satisfy, I would rather buy a longer telephoto lens than sink the money into another crop-sensor body.

Jon Austin , March 26, 2012; 06:14 P.M.

Interesting note on the prices of the Mark III vs. Mark II at introduction, according to the following post on CanonRumors.com:

"The Mk II was $2700 at introduction (September 2008). The exchange rate at the time was 110 yen to the dollar.  Thus the MkII was 297,000 yen. The Mk III is $3500. The exchange rate today is 81 yen to the dollar.  Thus the Mk III is 283,500 yen. Therefore the Mk III is cheaper, in the currency of the manufacturer - which is what counts.  Canon may announce the price in dollars, but they operate the business in yen."

<economics rant>So much for the arguments of those who say the size of the national debt doesn't matter. The debt's consequential impacts on the US government's credit rating and the exchange rate of the dollar against other currencies are what drive up the prices of these particular imported goods </economics rant>

David Dobreski , April 22, 2012; 06:42 P.M.

I heard from a reliable source that in dark rooms, amidst long exposures, the light from the view-screen on top of the camera leaks in and interferes with the image. 

majindi majindi , January 26, 2014; 03:34 A.M.

For those that need autofocus while taking Video, this is quite a good solution, by Fletch Murry, 

http://blog.planet5d.com/2013/03/secrets-of-fast-focusing-while-filming-with-the-canon-5d-mark-iii-and-other-canon-hdslrs/


Add a comment



Notify me of comments