A Site for Photographers by Photographers

Home > Equipment > Canon > EOS 7D review

Featured Equipment Deals

Latest Equipment Articles

The Week in Photography News Read More

The Week in Photography News

November 15-21, 2014: Hear the latest goings-on in the photography world, from product releases to event and campaign announcements and more.

Latest Learning Articles

Introduction to Creating an Album in Lightroom - Part I (Video Tutorial) Read More

Introduction to Creating an Album in Lightroom - Part I (Video Tutorial)

Learn to create an album in the Book Tab of Lightroom that you can publish and present to clients.


Canon EOS 7D Review

by Bob Atkins, October 2009 (updated March 2011)


The Canon EOS 7D is Canon’s “state of the art” crop sensor DSLR. It’s not an EOS 50D upgrade, but rather a whole new level of DSLR positioned between the EOS 50D and the EOS 5D Mk II. In some ways you can think of it as a crop sensor version of the full frame EOS 5D Mk II at a price that’s $1000 less, although it has some features that even the 5D Mk II doesn’t have.

I was impressed by the EOS 7D. Clearly Canon has put some thought into this camera and made a number of changes that make the EOS 7D the closest thing to a “professional grade” APS-C body that I’ve seen to date. With the advanced autofocus and metering, very high speed continuous shooting rate, large image buffer, wireless flash control, extensive set of custom functions and broadcast quality HD video, the EOS 7D would be ideal for sports shooters and photojournalists, as well as advanced amateur photographers who want a “state of the art” crop sensor camera. The HD video features alone might make it a camera of choice for budding film makers too. The only downside of the camera might be that it’s so flexible and has so many customizable options that novices might be confused by all the choices it provides! There’s a good reason why the instruction manual runs to 275 pages.

Where to Buy

The Canon EOS 7D is available from photo.net’s partners. Their prices are fair and you help to support photo.net.

If you are new to digital photography, start with the photo.net guide Building a DSLR System.

Features of the Canon EOS 7D

  • An 18MP CMOS sensor with a “gapless microlens” design for high efficiency
  • A 920,000 pixel, 3" high resolution LCD
  • An all new 19 zone AF system with dedicated AF processor
  • HD movies at 1080p and 720p
  • Continuous shooting at up to 8 frames/sec
  • Shutter rated for 150,000 cycles
  • Integrated wireless speedlite control
  • Improved weather sealing
  • Microfocus adjustment on a fixed or lens by lens basis
  • 4 levels of high ISO noise reduction
  • 4 levels of auto lighting optimization
  • 5 stops of exposure compensation (only 3 stops shown in viewfinder)
  • A 100% view optical viewfinder
  • A dual axis electronic level
  • An ISO range from 100-6400 plus 12800(H)
  • Contrast detection AF in Live View mode
  • Face detection in Live View mode
  • In camera illumination (vignetting) correction for JPEGs
  • A “creative auto” mode
  • HDMI output
  • Dual Digic IV processors
  • UDMA Mode 6 CF card support
  • LP-E6 battery (same as EOS 5D Mk II)

Operating Speed

Like other EOS DSLRs, the EOS 7D appears to turn on instantly, taking less than 100ms to be ready to shoot. All other operations are fast too, no doubt helped by the new dual Digic IV processors. When reviewing images, the time for the display to update with a new image is under 1/2 second.

In high speed continuous mode, the EOS 7D meets Canon’s specifications of 3 fps in slow mode and 8 fps in fast mode. I actually measured 7.99 fps, but that’s close enough to 8. One strange quirk is that even if the shutter is manually set to 1/1000 sec and the lens is in manual focus mode (which should give the fastest possible frame rate), with the lens cap on the maximum continuous frame rate was only 4.25 fps. The manual warns that the frame rate may drop is the light is low (even with a fast shutter speed) – and indeed it does!

With a mode 6 UDMA, 600x Sandisk card (pretty much the fastest card available right now), I got 20 RAW frames at 8 fps before the buffer filled (1/1000s, ISO 400) Then there was a pause of about 0.4 seconds followed by 2 rapid (8fps) frame, then another 0.4 second pause, then 2 more rapid frames and so on for about 5 seconds before the space between bursts increased to about 0.55 seconds. I didn’t measure the buffer capacity for JPEGs. since I gave up after 60 seconds of continuous shooting and 480 frames. Canon only claims 126 frames with a UDMA card, so the ultra speed mode 6 card may be showing it’s stuff here.

The use of high ISO noise reduction results in a significant reduction in the number of images which can be stored in the buffer, presumably due to the fact that the image processing power required for noise reduction slows down writing from the buffer to the memory card and so the buffer memory fills up faster.

Controls

The control layout of the EOS 7D is fairly similar to that of other EOS bodies such as the 50D and 5D Mk II, though there are a few new buttons and switches. The main control dial has a setting “CA” which stands for a “creative auto” mode. This is somewhat like a full auto mode, but allows you to save some custom settings. You can save flash mode, picture style, image brightness, single shot or continuous mode, image recoding quality and bias exposure toward smaller or larger apertures. Once saved, these settings will be remembered every time you select the “CA” mode. If you don’t change the settings from default, they will be exactly the same as the normal “full auto” exposure mode. There are also three custom modes which allow you to save almost any camera setting from metering mode to ISO setting, shooting mode (M, Av, Tv etc.) to AF mode.

The shooting modes available are C1 (custom), C2 (custom), C3 (custom), Program AE, Shutter Priority, Aperture Priority, Manual, and CA (creative Auto). There are no “scene” modes such as are found on the 40D/50D and Rebel series. In this respect the 7D is more similar to the full frame 5D Mk II and 1D series bodies than any of the crop sensor bodies. The 7D has no “A-DEP” mode.

As with all EOS DSLRs other than the Digital Rebel series, the EOS 7D has a rear thumb-wheel (“Quick Control Dial”), which defaults to adjustment of exposure compensation, but which is also used to scroll through menus and select items. On earlier crop sensor DSLRs, the lock for the QCD (which you can use to prevent accidental change of settings) was integrated into a 3 position switch which also served as the main power switch. On the 7D the main “on/off” power switch has now moved to the top left of the camera, next to the mode dial. The QCD has its own dedicated switch. The main exposure control dial (used to set shutter speed, aperture etc. depending on the shooting mode), is on the top right of the camera, just in front of the shutter release.

Like earlier xxD models, parameters such as shooting mode, white balance mode, ISO setting, shutter speed, aperture etc. can be displayed either on the top LCD or via use of the rear “Info” button on both the top and rear LCDs. The 7D also has a dedicated “Q” button which brings up current operating parameters on the rear LCD and allows each one to be changed using the 4-way control button and control dials. Though the top LCD can be illuminated, in dark conditions the operating parameters are much more easily read from the rear LCD.

The EOS 7D now has a dedicated switch for video/still shooting located to the immediate right of the viewfinder. Integrated with that button is a start/stop button for video shooting.

Also new on the 7D is a “RAW/JPEG” button, which is located to the immediate left of the viewfinder. If you are shooting in JPEG only mode, pressing the “RAW/JPEG” button allows the next shot to be recorded as both JPEG and RAW files. Similarly if you are shooting in RAW only, pressing the button allows the next frame to be recorded as both a RAW and JPEG file. If you are shooting in “RAW + JPEG” mode, the button has no effect.


Original text and photos ©2009 Bob Atkins.

Article revised March 2011.

Readers' Comments


Add a comment



Yakim Peled , November 17, 2009; 02:50 P.M.

While there are features in the D300s I'd like to see in the 7D (e.g. joystick in the grip, spot metering can be linked to active AF point, less MP etc.) I still consider it a worthy upgrade to my 40D.

Great review Bob, as always.

Happy shooting, Yakim.

JDM von Weinberg , November 17, 2009; 03:32 P.M.

Shouldn't this make it obvious to even the most stubborn "full-framer" that Canon, at least, is committed to the APS-C format?

It really sounds very nice indeed.

Sasi Shan , November 17, 2009; 03:39 P.M.

Thanks for the thorough review.

I am surprise by your one observation: "The manual warns that the frame rate may drop is the light is low (even with a fast shutter speed) – and indeed it does!"

Did they explain (or do you know) why it would drop in frame rate? Especially since you set the shutter speed to 1/1000s and put it into manual focus mode beforehand, I would have expected the frame rate to be constant. Is this common in all DSLRs?

-Sasi Shan

Bob Atkins , November 17, 2009; 03:44 P.M.

No explanation. I was surprised and found the effect by accident! Only after reading the manual did I find that comment by Canon. At first I thought the camera was defective, but as soon as I was imaging a scene of normal brightness I saw the full, advertised 8 frames/sec.

Maybe it has more trouble compressing a really dark image, though I've no idea why that should be. I could perhaps see why a high ISO dark imagfe might take more time to compress, plus such an image might need more noise reduction applied, which I suppose could take up some time. I didn't really experiment to see exactly under what set of conditions the frame rate dropped and I've never really looked for the effect on other DSLRs. I don't recall seeing a similar warning in other EOS manuals, though I suppose I may have missed it.

Sasi Shan , November 17, 2009; 04:07 P.M.

Interesting. FYI, I did a bit of googling and apparently others claim that holding down the AE-lock button allows it to hit 8 FPS under those circumstances. That seems to imply the metering system is involved somehow.

Bob Atkins , November 17, 2009; 06:46 P.M.

Could be, though why the metering system would get involved when using manual mode I don't know. Maybe it's just one of those unintended "features" that was easier to document than eliminate.

John Olszewski , November 17, 2009; 07:16 P.M.

When shooting movies, the review seems to be saying that you can use either phase detection AF or contrast detection AF. Is that correct?

If you can use phase detection AF while shooting movies and the LCD has to be blacked out because of that, I would assume that you can still see what you're doing through the viewfinder, correct?

When using either method of AF for movies, what is the focus indicator?

Bob Atkins , November 17, 2009; 08:24 P.M.

You can use either live mode (contrast detection) or quick mode (phase detection) for AF, but when shooting moves all focusing is done before the first frame is shot. AF indication is just like in Live view. Green square in Live mode, red square in Quick mode. There is no indiction of focus while the video is recording.

In Quick mode the mirror does drop down, the image blanks out, the camera focuses, the mirror goes up and the display reappears. You can then start the video recording.

When you are actually shooting, no auto focusing takes place (i.e. focus does not track), though you can make the camera refocus by pressing the AF-on button. Shooting continues and the camera uses Live focusing (contrast) even if you've selected quick focusing (phase) in the menu.

Sean Park , November 17, 2009; 08:37 P.M.

I'm just curious. It's said that the viewfinder actually has not 100% view if you shoot and check photos. Is it a real 100% viewfinder?

John Olszewski , November 17, 2009; 09:53 P.M.

How much of the AF noise is picked up by the internal mic during video recording? All of the reviews have said that it's easy to hear. Would you agree Bob?

Bob Atkins , November 17, 2009; 10:10 P.M.

It depends on the lens. Ring USM lenses are quieter than AFD lenses of course, Both are audible, AFD lenses are loud, but USM lenses aren't terrible, though they are clearly audible.

I have audio files, but I don't seem to be able to attach them here. I'll see if I can figure out a way to post them.

gurbally seth , November 17, 2009; 11:36 P.M.

I get a lot more CA in night shots when using fast primes. It was not the case with 5D.

brenda jobe , November 18, 2009; 12:08 A.M.

I rented a Canon 7D, and if you're shooting raw and not in a hurry to process your files, it's a terrific camera. However, if you're shooting raw, you'll need to wait 3-6 months before matching software is available for processing. What a bummer! It would really be nice if the camera and software manufacturers could act in coordination with one another...they might actually sell more than they're already doing with their partnership!! Good thing I rented it for a week and found this out before shooting an entire event in raw!!

Editor's note: Canon supply their own RAW image processor (DPP) which is an excellent RAW converter (possibly the best one out there). So you can shoot and process RAW files just fine. What you probably can't do (yet) is use your normal Adobe Photoshop or other 3rd party workflow until Adobe (or whoever) decide to issue an update with support for the 7D.

Cornell Tramontana , November 18, 2009; 12:24 A.M.

I'm sorry that the 7D has no A-DEP mode. However, while I consider this to be a negative, it is tempered by the fact that the A-DEP for my 20D is crappy compared to A-DEP mode for my film EOS cameras (650, A2E, and Elan 7) -- which allowed me to pinpoint what I wanted to be within the depth of filed by aiming near with the first click, aiming far with the second click, and with third click everything within the near and far far parameters would be in focus. I don't know why Canon had to changed to a vastly inferior A-DEP, to put it mildly.

Yakim Peled , November 18, 2009; 12:24 A.M.

>> However, if you're shooting raw, you'll need to wait 3-6 months before matching software is available for processing.

1. It's nothing new. It happens all the time.

2. Beta versions of third party software are available.

3. DPP3.7 is available.....

Happy shooting, Yakim.

Tomek Gooseberry , November 18, 2009; 01:02 A.M.

7D vs. D300s

I was really looking forward to the "Compared to Nikon D300s" section, hoping the 'face-off' would help me make up my mind which one to go for, so was disappointed to read that you didn’t have a D300s available for side to side comparison and couldn’t compare noise levels, dynamic range or AF performance as it leaves me right where I was, which is sitting on the fence...

Editor's note: Personally I'd chose between the D300s and EOS 7D based on features and compatibility with current equipment rather than pixel peeping for noise etc. Both cameras are capable of producing outstanding images. If I owned a bag if Nikon lenses, I'd go with a D300s, If I owned a bag of Canon lenses I'd go with the 7D. If I didn't own either I'd want to go to a camera store and play with both of them "in the flesh" to see which one felt best to me.

Post Sriptum: I've got no significant 'sunk costs' in either system (sold most gear with my EOS-3, which actually reminds me one thing: how come we still don't have a centre AF point that would work @ f/8, as EOS-3 had? -- that allowed me to use 100-400 + 1.4x extender at its long end = 560mm, my budget super-tele :)
And I did do go my local store and played with both to get the feel for how they handle; neither felt awkward, so in a sense inconclusive in terms of identifying 'the winner'.

Tomek Gooseberry , November 18, 2009; 01:38 A.M.

suboptimal AF layout composition-wise

C = top / N = bottom

I surely do prefer N's layout of AF points and their coverage of the frame area over C's: less need to recompose after acquiring focus or to compromise on composition.

Tomek Gooseberry , November 18, 2009; 01:41 A.M.


split-frame: N = left / C = right

...if only 7D's AF points were -- like in D300s -- arranged in a rectangular rather than a diamond shape...

Yakim Peled , November 18, 2009; 02:27 A.M.

I too like the AF layout of the D300 much more but the fact that all rightmost and leftmost AF points are all linear (i.e. non-cross) makes for slower AF. No thank you.

I tried it once. I took a D300 with 105/2.8 VR and compared it to my 40D and 100/2.8. I later took another D300 with 17-55/2.8 AF-S and compared it to my 40D and 17-55/2.8 IS. Differences were, in a word, embarrassing. The 40D locked focus quickly and followed easily. The D300 struggled to lock focus and regularly lost it.

Now, it was not a scientific test of any kind. I just played around with friend's cameras. I also didn't fiddle with AF settings, CF's etc. However, the differences were so big that I'm positive that the basic difference stem from the type of the AF sensor.

Happy shooting, Yakim.

Colin Elliott , November 18, 2009; 03:24 A.M.

I agree with Cornell. But even better than an A-DEP mode would be lenses with "real" aperture, distance and d-o-f- engravings.That's what's keeping me from going digital. Hyperfocal focusing is a must in landscape photography. Medium Format digital that would give me this, is just too expensive.

Hernest Ernesti Luchino , November 18, 2009; 04:09 A.M.

Thankyou very much.

Klaus Bjerre , November 18, 2009; 06:27 A.M.

Hi there As i can read in several reviews people only talk about noise in high ISO images. But as I can se the noise in 200 and 400 ISO images is to high compared to what you can se in EOS 40D RAW files. What's yor opinion about this?

Editors NoteI don't really see any significant noise in low ISO images, or any significant difference between the 7D and 40/50D at low ISO.

Stéphane Krakowska , November 18, 2009; 06:58 A.M.

The EOS 7D reminded me of the EOS 5 (film) back in '92. It is a semi-pro body cheaper than the 5D and 1D series. I am pretty sure that many pro will start using this body. Well done Canon and Good review Bob.

Robin Sibson , November 18, 2009; 09:12 A.M.

Cornell, I think you are confusing DEP and A-DEP modes. I have never heard anyone say a good word for A-DEP, and have always regarded it. like the "idiot modes" as a waste of space on the dial. DEP mode, which is the mode where you focus near and focus far to tell the camea what range you want, had its uses, and indeed I did use it occasionally on my film 1-series bodies, but I can't say I miss it.

Bob, helpful and interesting review, thanks for your efforts. Am I right in thinking that the WFTs for the 5DII and 7D still use the BP-511A battery? That's pretty dumb, at least for those – not me – that use the WFT. However, there's one WFT feature that should surely now be built into the camera (a hardware enhancement, but it would cost very little to add), which is (wired) host USB 2.0 High Speed, with facilities for dumping files to a USB disk either as you shoot or afterwards, and for reviewing on the camera files that are on the disk. Camera LCDs are now good enough and big enough that this facility would make storage devices like the Canon M80 and Epson P-series redundant for most purposes.

Dwayne Hoover , November 18, 2009; 09:41 A.M.

What are your thoughts on this article?
http://darwinwiggett.wordpress.com/2009/11/11/the-canon-7d/

The guy is essentially saying that a G11 is better :)

Obviously there are a number of factors that go against that claim, and a lot of the discrepancies are probably due to software/configuration issues, but I'm curious to see the reaction here. It's no secret that photo.net has a more traditional user base that doesn't hold pixel peeping as law and is more than willing to dismiss the newest thing for something tried and true.

Editor's note I'm actually working on a G11 review next. I think it's long been established at at the lowest ISO settings the results from P&S type digicams with small sensors can rival those from DSLRs, certainly as long as you're not cropping or trying to make huge prints.

Tony Fletcher , November 18, 2009; 09:58 A.M.

Great review! I'm using the 7D, up from my 30D.

I love the "Q" menu and the ability to set the 3 custom set-ups.

Oscar van der Velde , November 18, 2009; 11:46 A.M.

How does the electronic level indicator work out for you? It seems that when I get noticeably skewed horizons, they are typically less than 0.4° off. If it has 1° resolution it seems not greatly useful.... I'm still hoping for DPP to include a horizon levelling option.

Angel Bocanegra , November 18, 2009; 12:49 P.M.

Sure, the d300 has more focus points clustered together. But only 15 are really useful and accurate. The others just get in the way. Comparing to the 7D which has 19 useful points that are all useful and more accurate. I have actually rented a d300 with a 14-24 f2.8. Don't get me wrong, Nikon is also bad ass for me but I am waiting for a d700s with video so I can finally own both systems one day.

Daniel Charette , November 18, 2009; 06:58 P.M.

Thanks Bob for a very good review, and thanks to all others who added to the discussion. Very informative, as always.

Tomek Gooseberry , November 19, 2009; 12:36 A.M.

resistance against elements (?!)

Cheers for your feedback, Yakim and Angel: very interesting! -- I was under impression that N's AF system in D300 is as good as it gets in crop sensor cameras.

How about durability? -- again, from what I've heard/read, I've gathered that N bodies are considered to be more sturdy and better weather-sealed as compared to their C counterparts (mind you, I had issues with my EOS-3 even in not-so-challenging conditions, and when I sent it to Canon Service, they claimed they tested it and insisted there was absolutely nothing wrong with it, yet the problem didn't go away.) Camera's ability to keep operating in harsh environment is quite important to me.

note to the Editor / webmaster: the newly posted link on the home page to this just-published review currently points to
http://photo.net/equipment/nikon/eos-7d/review/
thus giving the "404 - Page Not Found" error message (!)

Angel Bocanegra , November 19, 2009; 02:43 A.M.

Durability. I don't really know since the only extreme weather I have shot in with my canon DSLR's have been in Las Vegas, with no problems. I've read about the 5dii failing in an Antarctica expedition when the 5dii was barely released and that all N shooters kept on shootin'. The 7D is supposed to be like the 5dii with all the gaskets and sealing. The D300 does have a different "feel" to it, but I still like my 7D's feel better, but I guess that is because I've been shooting with canon longer. By the way, I love my 7D. Today I was taking a self portrait with the 85 f1.2L mkii and I just love it when I look through that huge glass and watch how the entire lens lights red when autofocus confirms. LOVE MY 7D!

Andy Collins , November 19, 2009; 09:36 P.M.

Excellent review Bob, very thorough and objective. I remember posting some time ago that I had no need to upgrade since I felt that my 30D was more than enough camera for me; the 7D changed my mind and I'm extremely pleased with the camera and its wealth of features and capabilities. I bought the camera primarily for the new AF and metering and I'm impressed on both fronts. Aside from my 1vHS, this is the most complete and capable camera I've owned. Thanks again for the great review.

Tomek--Before the DSLRs took over the world, the Canon 1v was regarded as the best sealed 35mm camera. I read that in a couple of different magazines some time ago, but I can't remember which. That same level of sealing continues in the 1-series DSLRs. My 1v has been dripping wet in moderately heavy rains (with so much water running over it that the AF couldn't focus through all of the water running over the lens...long story, don't ask), and never had a problem. While the 7D isn't sealed that tightly, it is sealed much more tightly than the 30D I moved from, and probably enough so that one needn't worry quite as much as before, but I'd still take precautions.

Jijo De Guzman , November 22, 2009; 12:55 A.M.

Thank you for the in-depth review Bob! I have a couple of questions that i hope you and/or the other forum members can answer or comment on:

1. Comparing the 7D & 1d Mk III, which would be a better performer in the following areas:

a) Image noise b) Over-all image quality c) Focusing speed in low light

2. Is the weather sealing on the 7D as good as the one of the 1D Mk III???

Thanks a lot!!!

Yakim Peled , November 22, 2009; 04:32 A.M.

Yesterday I played with the 7D at the Israeli launch. I'm flabbergasted.

Happy shooting, Yakim.

CS Chua , November 23, 2009; 10:48 A.M.

Brenda, Adobe already launched Camera RAW 5.6 and Lightroom 2.6 to process Canon 7D's sRaw and mRaw. Camera RAW 5.5 and Lightroom 2.5 handles 7D full RAW.

Awik Balaian , November 25, 2009; 03:30 P.M.

Hi, I was thinking for buying 5D mark II, but now is the 7D i read the differences, but still dont know which to buy. I do a lot studio photography and also video art. Anyway what you think should i save money and buy 7d or is better for me to buy 5d mark II? Thanks. Awik

william bray , November 28, 2009; 01:30 P.M.

Hi I Know the 5DMK2 vs the 7D has been talked about alot I don't want to start a big disscusion here thats not my intention.I have been looking at the various tests for the 7d and they are not consistant, at imaging resourse the 7d looks sharper than the 5dMK2, but at another review that I have posted below shows the 7d to be poor. I love the 7d and I have tested it against the 5dMK2 and I have been very impressed how close they are in IQ,and I plan on getting a 7d soon.There are a lot of seasoned photographers here who have more experiance and knowlage then myself can anyone please explain why some of the test are so different. Thanks http://www.imaging-resource.com/PRODS/E5D2/E5D2hHOUSE.HTM http://www.imaging-resource.com/PRODS/E7D/E7DhHOUSE.HTM http://rolandlim.wordpress.com/2009/11/06/canon-eos-7d-review/

Junce Martin , December 06, 2009; 02:22 A.M.

Upgraded from 40D, which I'll keep as a backup. Very happy so far with image quality, tack-sharp focus with some help from micro-adjustment, and great low-light images. Low noise and 100% viewfinder great pluses. Not too concerned with 1.6 crop factor, at least I get to use my EF-S lenses!

Noticed the following problems:

  • Canon still supplies a flimsy rubber thingy to cover the viewfinder AFTER removing the eye cushion when taking long exposures (experts say similar things at: Canon 7D conclusion ) . Very clumsy and time-consuming. Nikon's D700 features a lever to activate a shutter over the viewfinder.
  • No context-sensive help on the menus!
  • 8 dead pixels from brand new, my 40D now has over 50.

Peter Rosen , February 23, 2010; 08:43 P.M.

With all the rave's you would think this camera has no drawbacks, but it does! I can't stand that you can't hold the camera to your eye and see THROUGH THE VIEW FINDER! You have to use the LCD screen, which leaves a lot to be desired for "wild" shooting, i.e. when the camera is not mounted on a tripod. Not only is it nearly impossible to track/follow focus moving objects in bright sun (i.e. reflective off the LCD) sunlight, but you can't follow focus at all (since there is not any auto focus servo in video mode. Does anyone else find this a problem? I don't feel kinetically connected to my shots unless the viewfinder is "in my face" so I can move as a unit for better control of image composition on the fly when no tripod in near. Please advise??

Image Attachment: Picture 1.png

Dennis Knoxville , March 28, 2010; 01:06 P.M.

I can't stand that you can't hold the camera to your eye and see THROUGH THE VIEW FINDER

Not sure what you are referring to---The Canon 7D has an excellent viewfinder.

Like the Nikons, the viewwfinder LCD goes black with no power - is that what you mean?

Jason Gualdoni , October 01, 2010; 05:13 P.M.

Can't look through the viewfinder??? I fail to see how that's possible, unless you have a face like a stork, the viewfinder is magnificent on the 7D.

Thanks for the great review. IQ between my two cameras (also the 40D and 7D) are similar, but the AF, and other features make the 7D my choice for most of the shooting I do which is grade-school and summer league sporting events, both indoor and outdoor. Even David Ziser, a world-renown wedding photographer said at his last seminar in St. Louis, MO, (09/2010), that he uses his 5DII for some portraits and fine art work, but he prefers his 7D when he shoot weddings, as he finds it a bit more responsive. I like my 7D, and can see the viewfinder just fine. 

Happy Shooting!!!

John Zhao , November 15, 2010; 05:03 A.M.

I've tested the Canon 7D camera, its one of the easiest to use and light weight camera. I've noticed some people find it hard to use Canon, that's because they are not use to Canon cameras. It's just like people being using Nikon for a long time and get so use to using Nikon cameras and don't feel confortable using Canon cameras?

John Zhao

www.johnzhao.com.au

www.sydneyportrait.com

 

Ray Gapinski , February 22, 2011; 05:08 P.M.

Thank you, Bob, for your time & effort in writing this review.

BTW -- Canon USA has an "instant rebate" for the 7D, now in effect.

Just for your information . . . .

 

 

Simon Galbally , March 22, 2011; 08:37 A.M.

50D partner body?

Thans Bob. An excellent well thought through review. Timely for me too. I'm a 50D user and very happy with it. Mainly an MF film shooter it was my first digital cam and does good justice to my L series lenses.

Your opinion please since you're familiar with the 50D. Putting money issues aside for the moment (I'll come back to that reality later :) ), I've an opportunity to consider the 7D as a first body to partner with my 50D and am giving thought to the 5D MKII as an alternative. I could even replace the 50D with the 5D MKII but a partner body is more important to my use, so that's a route I'd rather not take. By the way video does not interest me at all.

I was thinking the 7D would partner the 50D well because: shooting with 2 cropped sensor cameras may be more "convenient" (not having to be distracted by focal length issues); I'd be gaining resolution, noise / low light performance, speed, excellent 100% viewfinder; a body designed for the rough stuff; similar dimensions and feel...

So, I suppose the real question is, if I'm now adjusted to the APS-C format and the 7D is arguably the optimal APS-C camera going, would I benefit THAT much from a 5D MKII full frame over the 7D despite some newer features of the 7D? 

Would your experience with the 7D indicate the it would be a safe bet or is the 5D MKII image quality still that far ahead?

Thanks for your time and advice.

Luke Dempsey , April 06, 2011; 08:15 A.M.

I think what Peter Rosen means is that you can't take movies through the viewfinder. To film whilst looking through the viewfinder will mean that the camera will have to be fully remodelled. Seeing that the 7D is primarily designed for shooting stills, this means that it shouldn't warrant a complete remodel to support video ergonomics. A dedicated movie camera is probably the way to go if it annoys you so much Pete.

Walter Nussbaumer , July 12, 2012; 12:51 P.M.

Canon EOS 7D is a great camera, but also has a couple of features that need improving on.  While it does a relatively good job at high ISO images, do not underexpose with this camera as there is no way to bring back details without introducing "noise"  I have programmed the auto focus  to be activated by the "AF on" button on the rear of the camera which I find works quite well when tracking fast moving objects also in Cutsom functions I ahve set the "dial reverse" function to on, this way you turn the dial in the direction one needs the histogram to move.  Since the majority of my images are wildlife, I find the camera ideal for that purpose, you will not be disappointed.  I also have a Canon EOS 1D Mark III which the 7D is replacing gradually. One final point is when you purchase the camera, you may also wish to have Canon install the up-dated "mode" dial modification which lock the mode dial from accidentally changing modes during transport.

Image Attachment: fileLATkeh.jpg


Add a comment



Notify me of comments