A Site for Photographers by Photographers

Featured Equipment Deals

Introduction to Lightroom: Exporting Images (Video Tutorial) Read More

Introduction to Lightroom: Exporting Images (Video Tutorial)

Learn how to properly export your photos once you've developed them in Lightroom, including metadata, watermark, naming, choosing your export location, and more.

Latest Equipment Articles

Sun Position Tracking Apps Read More

Sun Position Tracking Apps

These 5 apps, ranging in price from free to $8.99, are our top picks for tracking sun (and moon) light. Also ranging in complexity, some help you keep tabs on the ideal lighting of the day while...

Latest Learning Articles

Basic Image Development in Lightroom: Color Editing (Video Tutorial) Read More

Basic Image Development in Lightroom: Color Editing (Video Tutorial)

Learn basic HSL (hue, saturation, and luminance) color adjustments as well as split toning (adjusting color in highlights and lowlights) in this next video.


Delete photos on camera

Richard Longthorpe , Dec 20, 2006; 02:49 p.m.

Hi

The camera that I recently bought is nikon D70. I was uploading photos to the computer but it seems I clicked something and old photos were uploaded to my camera from the computer. When I upload new photos to the computer each time it now brings up the option to uppoad the old photos too. It seems the photos are stored on the actual camera rather than the memory card. I have deleted all the photos from the memory card but the camera still has the old photos stored. Can any tell me how to delete photos from the actual camera and not the memory card. Any help would be greatly appreciated as uploading photos to the computer is taking so long as it is transferring the old photos too.

Kind regards

Rich

Responses

Todd Peach , Dec 20, 2006; 02:55 p.m.

I would think that formatting the card 'in camera' should take care of this.

Don Cooper , Dec 20, 2006; 03:02 p.m.

The camera cannot store photos, only the memory card can. Like Todd said, format the card in the camera after downloading to the computer.

Eric Bowen , Dec 20, 2006; 03:32 p.m.

The D70 gives you the option to "lock" photos on the card (you will see a little key in the corner of the LCD for locked photos). It is very easy to accidentally lock photos because the lock button is directly above the zoom button when you are reviewing photos in the LCD.

I bet you have a bunch of locked images that are never getting deleted... unlock them and delete them... and all will be well (until the next time you accidentally lock some more)

Luck-

-EAB

BW Combs , Dec 20, 2006; 03:33 p.m.

As said, there is no storage on this camera other than the CF card. So any images uploaded from the PC to the camera are theoretically on the CF card. Formatting the card in the D70 will wipe out any images on the CF card.

My advice to you is to get a card reader that will allow you to download images from the CF card to the computer, without having to use the camera as a device.

R Jackson , Dec 20, 2006; 07:47 p.m.

It seems like, back when I used NikonView, that it would show the thumbnails of the photos from the previously downloaded shots. That may be what you are seeing. What happens when you click on the download button? They should be replaced by the photos on the card, if this is the case.

Back to top

Notify me of Responses