Marc Williams , Jan 04, 2006; 07:51 p.m.
"I realize in order to stay in business, I must make at least enough money to cover the expenses."
That is a formula for going out of business.
After materials cost, paying assistants (if any), gear amortization, travel expenses, taxes and insurance, promotional/advertising expenses ... there should be a profit margin for your time and effort including meetings with clients that makes it worthwhile. Only you can determine what that amount should be. But consider this: if you made $40K annual in profit margin, you'd have to do 40 weddings with $1,000. left over from each ... after you subtracted all the expenses listed.